Skip to Main Content
A headshot of UCLA physics and astronomy professor Zvi Bern

Zvi Bern Elected to National Academy of Sciences

The UCLA professor joins 120 other new members in 2024.

Zvi Bern, professor of physics and astronomy and director of the Mani L. Bhaumik Institute for Theoretical Physics, was recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences. A UCLA faculty member since 1992, Bern is an internationally renowned researcher and a fellow of the American Physical Society. In 2014 he, along with David Kosower and Lance Dixon, won the J. J. Sakurai Prize. In 2023 that same trio won the Galileo Galilei Medal from the Galileo Galilei Institute for Theoretical Physics.