Diversity in the Physical Sciences

As part of the division's commitment to a supportive academic environment for all students, faculty, and staff, UCLA’s divisions of Life and Physical Sciences have jointly sponsored an annual workshop entitled "Enhancing Student Success in Science."

In 2017, the workshop was organized and facilitated by Dr. Anna Yeakley, Director of UCLA’s Intergroup Relations (IGR) Program­.

More than 40 faculty and staff leaders from both Life and Physical Sciences were joined by Dean Sork and Dean García-Garibay and participated in learning exercises to improve the teaching and mentoring of a diverse student body in the sciences.


Physical Sciences Diversity Committee

The Physical Sciences Diversity committee, which meets quarterly, is charged with overseeing efforts to increase faculty, staff, and student diversity in the Physical Sciences Division. It also works to develop inclusive methods of instruction and to ensure that all members of the division are treated equitably. It is chaired by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , Associate Dean of Physical Sciences for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.


Physical Sciences Diversity Committee Membership

Albert Courey (Chair), Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Miguel García-Garibay, Dean of Physical Sciences
Andrea Ghez, Professor of Physics & Astronomy
David Gonzalez, Graduate Student Member
Tama Hasson, Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Research
Jaeyeon Hwang, Undergraduate Student Member
Alexandra Mendoza, Graduate Student Member
Smadar Naoz, Assistant Professor of Physics & Astronomy
Liya Oster, Undergraduate Student Member
Suzanne Paulson, Professor of Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences
Shanna Shaked, Lecturer in Physics & Astronomy & Co-Director, CEILS
Joseph Teran, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Jorge Torres, Assistant Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Aradhna Tripati, Associate Professor of Earth, Planetary & Space Sciences
Qing Zhou, Associate Professor of Statistics


Upcoming Meetings:

Physical Sciences Diversity Committee Meeting
Thursday, February 16, 2017
12:00 P.M. – 1:30 P.M.
Academic Senate Conference Room, 1215 Murphy Hall 


Past Meetings:

Physical Sciences Diversity Committee Meeting
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
3:30 P.M. – 5:00 P.M.
Deans’ Office Conference Room, 2300F Murphy Hall


June 2, 2016
9:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.
Chancellor’s Conference Room, 2121 Murphy Hall


Physical Sciences Townhall Meeting
May 16, 2016
12:00 P.M. - 1:30 P.M.
Palisades Room, Carnesale Commons
Undergraduate Student Climate in the Physical Sciences: UCUES Summary


April 21, 2016
10:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M.
2300F Murphy Hall


February 17, 2016
3:30 P.M. - 5:00 P.M.
2300F Murphy Hall


December 11, 2015
4:00 P.M. - 5:30 P.M.
3-703 Physics & Astronomy Building